Gluten Free Egg Rolls

Switching to a gluten-free diet can seem insurmountable, but are you going to have to give up your egg rolls, or is there a gluten-free option that doesn’t have you sacrificing taste? 

Traditionally, egg rolls are not gluten-free because wheat flour in the rapper and soy sauce is part of the feeling. However, you can get gluten-free options pre-made that you can put into the freezer, or you can substitute the wheat flour in the wrapper and soy sauce with other sauces that taste similar should you choose to make your gluten-free option. 

Let’s discover what options you have to substitute the gluten ingredients and some of the questions you might have about finding the perfect gluten-free egg rolls.

Can I Buy Gluten Free Egg Rolls?

You can buy frozen and already prepared gluten-free egg rolls. While they’re frozen, which means they will taste as good as making your own, you can keep some of them in your freezer so that you always have them there should you want them. However, finding a recipe to make your gluten-free egg rolls may get you better results. 

Do Egg Roll Wrappers Contain Gluten?

You must be very careful when enjoying egg rolls if you have difficulty digesting gluten because egg roll wrappers usually contain wheat flour. If you want to avoid having gluten in the egg roll wrapper, you should make it gluten-free egg roll wrappers, or you can make your own. 

Gluten-Free Wheat Flour Substitutes

If you decide to make your egg roll wrappers, you must find a substitute for wheat flour. The easiest thing is to switch out with a gluten-free option so that you can follow whatever your favorite egg roll wrapper recipe is. Some substitutes you can consider are:

  • Almond flour
  • Buckwheat flour
  • Sorghum flour
  • Amaranth flour
  • Teff flour
  • Arrowroot flour
  • Brown rice flour
  • Oat flour

Hopefully, one of these wheat flour substitutes will help you to make your favorite gluten-free egg roll wrappers without too much stress. 

What is a Substitute for Egg Roll Wrappers?

If you would rather avoid using egg roll wrappers because you want to prevent the wheat flour, you can also use wonton wrappers or rice paper. These two options should have a similar effect when the egg rolls are fried without worrying about making your own gluten-free egg roll wrappers. 

However, one thing to keep in mind is that not all wonton wrappers are gluten-free, so you’ll have to be sure that you checked the ingredients for wheat flour. They are a bit easier to find than a gluten-free egg roll wrapper.

On the other hand, rice paper is naturally gluten-free, so you won’t have to worry about finding certain ingredients unless you want to double-check. There aren’t any traditional rice paper recipe ingredients that call for gluten. This also means that if you would like to switch to spring rolls instead of egg rolls, you won’t have to worry about gluten-free wrapper alternatives.

Why Are Egg Rolls Not Gluten-Free?

Traditionally egg rolls were made with wheat wonton wrappers and filled with shredded cabbage and vegetables like carrots and onions mixed with soy sauce. It would also be some meat in the filling unless it were a vegetarian option. Between the wheat in the rubbers and the soy sauce, the result is an egg roll with multiple sources of gluten. 

However, just because the traditional egg roll recipe involved multiple sources of gluten doesn’t mean you can’t switch around those ingredients to make a more modern and gluten-free option. It’s pretty easy to switch out the wheat flour in the wrappers, and you can always use a different sauce other than soy sauce as a substitute. 

What is a Gluten-Free Substitute for Soy Sauce?

The best way to avoid the gluten in soy sauce while still having a similar flavor then tamari is your best choice. It has a flavor similar to soy sauce, but he doesn’t use wheat. It’s also reasonably easy to find, so you must hunt down a particular product to get your soy sauce to substitute. 

However, it is worth looking into some specifically gluten-free soy sauces from some companies. There are things like the Kikkoman brand, which has a specific gluten-free soy sauce that you can use for your egg roll filling. 

Are Panda Express Egg Rolls Gluten-Free?

If you enjoyed the chain restaurant Panda Express but can’t have gluten in your diet, I’m sorry to disappoint you because their egg rolls are not gluten-free. They’re not vegetarian either, so there are multiple diet types of diets Panda Express currently doesn’t have alternative alternatives.

Other Ingredients in Egg Rolls and Substitutions

If you’re aware that you need to take gluten out of your diet, there may be other ingredients you should watch out for when getting egg rolls. This isn’t specifically about gluten-related products but things that you should be aware of that you may not know our crucial ingredient to egg rolls and what you can substitute so that they fit your dietary restrictions.

  • Eggs: Eggs are usually in the wrappers for egg rolls and provide structure, so there aren’t many substitute options.
  • Cornstarch: Cornstarch is usually in the filling because it helps absorb liquid and prevent leaking; however, you can replace it with a neutral starch such as potato starch or arrowroot.
  • Honey: Honey is a natural sweetener, but if you prefer to avoid it, you can substitute brown sugar with the equivalent weight. 
  • Frying oil: If you want to avoid oils, then an air fryer or a convection oven works well. 

Conclusion

If you were looking for gluten-free egg rolls, there are a few options that you can choose from, whether that is getting pre-made egg rolls that you can keep in your freezer or making your own by substituting certain ingredients. The main culprits for gluten in egg rolls are the wrapper and soy sauce. However, you can easily replace those with gluten-free options and still enjoy your egg rolls.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}