Pork and beans might be gluten-free depending on their brand.
About Pork and Beans
The individual ingredients in a can of pork and beans are gluten-free. There are no wheat, barley or oat derivatives found in natural beans, or natural pork. However, complications can occur in the manufacturing process of a can of pork and beans.
Read More >> Are Ranch Style Beans Gluten-Free?
When pork sausage is made, some companies add either fat or cereals to the sausage. This is to keep the sausage bound together so it doesn’t fall apart easily. If cereals are added, they sometimes contain a gluten product, such as wheat. This makes the pork not gluten-free.
Another complication can happen during the manufacturing process of the can of pork and beans. Corporate food companies have massive factories where they produce many different types of consumer products. These products can widely vary from nut products to bread or sauce products.
If one product line has wheat in it or a gluten derivative, it can become cross-contaminated with products that would normally be gluten-free. If the factory has good practices in place to make sure there is no cross-contamination, then they may be able to label their gluten-free products as such.
Sometimes, though, there are poor cross-contamination practices. This can cause small amounts of wheat or gluten to contaminate another line of products.
That is why you sometimes read on a can of beans’ ingredients “May Contain Traces Of Wheat.” This means the company wants to let the consumer know there may be a small amount of wheat or gluten derivative that may have become cross-contaminated with this particular product.
Which Brands of Pork and Beans are Gluten-Free?
Top Four Brands of Canned Pork and Beans, and if They are Gluten-Free
Brand | Gluten-Free or Not |
Heinz Deep-Browned Beans with Pork & Tomato Sauce | Gluten-Free |
Campbell’s Pork and Beans | Not Gluten-Free |
Van Camp’s Pork and Beans | Gluten-Free |
Bush’s Showboat Pork and Beans in Tomato Sauce | Gluten-Free |
Why are Pork and Beans so Popular?
Pork and Beans became an American classic after H.J Heinz came out with their version in 1895. It has since then become a loved and popular kitchen staple to this day, selling more than 100 million cans a year from Campbell alone.
Read More >> Are Van Camp’s Pork and Beans Gluten-Free?
What are the Ingredients in Pork and Beans?
The ingredients are (based off of Van Camp’s Pork and Beans):
- Prepared White Beans
- Water
- Tomato Puree
- Sugar
- Less than 2% of: High Fructose Corn Syrup
- Salt
- Distilled Vinegar
- Pork
- Baking Soda
- Onion Powder
- Natural Flavors
- Artificial Flavors
- Spice
- Calcium Chloride
What is the Nutritional Information of Pork and Beans?
The Nutritional Facts (Based off of Van Camp’s Pork and Beans)
3.5 servings per container Serving Size: |
1/2 Cup (130g) |
Amount per serving Calories: |
120 |
Amount per serving |
% Daily Value* |
Total Fat 1g |
2% |
Saturated Fat 0 |
0% |
Trans Fat 0g | |
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.0g | |
Monounsaturated Fat 0.0g | |
Cholesterol 0 |
0% |
Sodium 390 |
16% |
Total Carbohydrate 23g |
8% |
Dietary Fiber 6g |
21% |
Sugars 8g | |
Added Sugars 6g | |
Protein 6g |
8% |
Vitamin A |
0% |
Vitamin C |
0% |
Calcium |
4% |
Potassium 310 |
9% |
Iron |
8% |
Vitamin D |
0% |
Sources
20 foods you think are gluten-free but aren’t | BBC good food
Heinz Deep-Browned Beans with Pork & Tomato Sauce | Walmart
Pork and Beans | Food Reference
Pork and Beans | Campbell’s Food Service
Van Camp’s Pork and Beans, Canned Beans, 15 oz | Walmart
Showboat Pork and Beans in Tomato Sauce, Canned Beans with Pork, 53 oz | Walmart