Black beans are a versatile legume that are used in delicious dishes or even eaten plain, but are they gluten-free?
Pure beans like black beans are naturally gluten-free.
Keep reading this article if you want to know which beans are susceptible to gluten contamination and delicious black bean recipes you can make try making today!
Black Bean Profile
Black beans are considered a legume and are often referred to as turtle beans because of their unique nature. The raw bean is considered a plant, and its outer core contains a hard, shell-like coating. The only edible portion of the plant is the black bean itself which is inside the hard shell.
Time and time again, the black bean is considered a crown jewel of the bean family because of its high fiber and protein content. Black beans are also noted for having minimal sugar and fat content (bonus!)
Black beans also contain key vitamins and nutrients required to lead a healthy life. Some key vitamins these powerhouse beans provide you include:
- Vitamin A
Nutritionally, they’re also great. Did you know that one serving of cooked black beans contains about 114 calories and 8 grams of protein?
Read More >> Are Ranch Style Beans Gluten Free?
Which Beans Are Susceptible To Gluten Contamination?
Canned beans tend to be flavored or mixed with liquids that could contain gluten.
Canned beans are rarely pure-form beans and may contain wheat. Starch, wheat, and flour are common additives used in canned beans.
Beans Found in Bulk Bins
Beans that are in bulk bins have a pretty high chance of being contaminated with gluten because of cross-contamination with gluten-containing grains.
Beans Used in Dips
Don’t get fooled that bean dips contain pure beans. These beans could easily be mixed with gluten-containing products.
Bean dips tend to contain additives like soy sauce, which contains gluten. Always be sure to read the ingredients carefully.
Lentils are susceptible to being packaged in factories that process gluten-containing products. It’s best to read the labels on these products as well.
Beans Used in Restaurants
Beans used in restaurants may not always be stored away from gluten-containing products. You might be able to ask the restaurant staff whether the beans have been in contact with gluten-containing products.
But, the best bet is to avoid beans at restaurants especially if you suffer from serious gluten intolerances or have Celiac disease.
Beans That Are Least Likely to Be Contaminated
Beans That Are Labeled Gluten-Free
The FDA is pretty strict when it comes to gluten-free labeling, so rest assured that the labels on your pre-packaged beans are accurate and true.
Beans that cost more tend to be the ones that go through more regulation and quality control.
So in this case, you do get the beans you pay for, and higher-priced beans will most likely be sourced in their purest form, and won’t be contaminated with gluten.
Does Washing Beans Get Rid of Gluten?
The pesky nature of gluten is that it’s very sticky and there’s no guarantee washing your beans will remove the gluten.
Washing your beans may remove some traces of other contaminants but there’s no guarantee.
Are All Beans Gluten-Free?
There are over 400 types of beans out there (imagine all of the summer salad possibilities?), and yes, they are all gluten-free. So, how is this possible?
In their purest form, all beans are gluten-free. Yes, that’s right! Your favorite beans, like pinto, navy, and garbanzo beans are all gluten-free so long as you purchase them in their pure form, meaning not canned or processed beyond their natural state.
Where Can I Buy Pure Beans?
If you want to buy beans in their purest form, you’ll find what you’re looking for at any major grocery store in the beans aisle. Skip the canned beans and head toward the bags that contain dried beans.
Besides the perk of also being cheaper than canned beans, the dried beans that are normally found in transparent bags are pure and guaranteed to be gluten-free.
Also, dried beans contain less sodium than canned beans and if you have anyone in your household who needs to watch their sodium consumption, then dried beans are the way to go.
What Can You Make With Black Beans?
So now that we’ve established that black beans are kind of a powerhouse bean, let’s get to the fun part. Sure, you can boil them and eat them plain but that’s a little boring. Black beans are very versatile and can be used for some delicious recipes.
Black Bean Salsa
Black bean salsa is a nutritious and delicious way of adding some fiber and protein to your salsa mix. This recipe uses a few simple ingredients like cilantro, lime juice, cumin, olive oil, and of course, black beans to create a delicious salsa. Pair this with some tortilla chips!
Read More >> Is Tostito’s Salsa Con Queso Gluten Free?
Black Bean Soup
Perfect for a chilly day, black bean soup is a delicious way to get some nutrients into your system while eating a delicious bowl of goodness.
This spicy black bean soup is easy to make, and you might already have most of the ingredients in your pantry (phew!)
Black Bean Brownies
Don’t think I forgot about dessert! Now before you scratch your head, you have to give this recipe a try.
Black beans add a rich, soft texture to this brownie recipe, and you might even fool some people who don’t believe that it contains beans.
For this recipe, just ensure you have a food processor or a high-speed blender that can process the beans into a thick paste (no one wants whole beans in their brownies).
Black beans are nutritious, versatile, and overall a great choice when you consider how easy they are to get. The good news is that they’re gluten-free, so you can enjoy this delicious legume with your gluten-sensitive friends too.
Remember, dried, bagged beans are the best type to purchase if you want to ensure you’re not receiving gluten-contaminated products.