Are Splenda Sweeteners Gluten Free?

Splenda’s entire range of sweeteners are mostly gluten free. Gluten products such as wheat, rye, barley, or oats, and no ingredients derived from gluten products. However, Splenda does not test for gluten in their production process, so a complete lack of gluten is not guaranteed.

Need to know more about Splenda, its ingredients, and whether there is a danger of gluten being present in their products? We have all the information you need, so let’s get right into it!

How is Splenda Made Without Gluten?

Splenda’s main ingredient is allulose, a plant-based sweetener. Allulose, according to Splenda, is produced by adding enzymes to corn. Corn, of course, is a gluten free food, so this is how Splenda avoid gluten products.

What Other Ingredients Are in Splenda?

We’ve taken the most important, popular, and common Splenda products, from their wide range, and tabulated their ingredients for you below.

Product

Type

Ingredients

Original

Packets

Dextrose, Maltodextrin, Splenda Sucralose

Original

Granulated

Maltodextrin, Splenda Sucralose

Original

Sugar Blend

Sugar, Splenda Sucralose

Original

Brown Sugar

Sugar, Molasses, Glycerin, Splenda Sucralose, Natural & Artificial Flavors

Original

Added Fiber

Soluble Corn Fiber, Maltodextrin, Sucralose

Original

Liquid

Water, Splenda Sucralose, Malic Acid, Sodium, Benzoate (Preservative), Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)

Original

Vanilla Liquid

Water, Propylene Glycol, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Splenda Sucralose, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Sodium Benzoate (Preservative)

Original

Minis

Lactose (from Milk), Splenda Sucralose, Croscarmellose Sodium, L-Leucine

Stevia

Packets

Erythritol, Stevia Leaf Extract

Stevia

Granulated

Tapioca Maltodextrin, Stevia Extract

Stevia

Jar

Erythritol, Stevia Leaf Extract

Stevia

Liquid

Water, Stevia Leaf Extract, Citric Acid, Sodium Benzoate (Preservative), Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)

Stevia

Vanilla Liquid

Water, Propylene Glycol, Stevia Leaf Extract, Contains 2% or Less of Citric Acid, Natural Flavors, Potassium Sorbate and Sodium Benzoate (Preservatives)

Stevia

Energy Liquid

Water, Stevia Leaf Extract, Natural Caffeine, Potassium Sorbate and Sodium Benzoate (Preservatives)

Monk Fruit

Packets

Erythritol, Monk Fruit Extract

Monk Fruit

Jar

Erythritol, Monk Fruit Extract

Monk Fruit

Liquid

Water, Monk Fruit Extract, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate and Sodium Benzoate (to Preserve Freshness)

Allulose

Packets

Allulose, Natural Flavors

What is Stevia and Monk Fruit?

These are two additional types of sweeteners that Splenda offer – that are still gluten free. Stevia is a plant that is naturally sweet, and Splenda utilizes the leaves extract Reb D, unlocking the sweetness of the plant, without the usual bitterness.

Stevia has become one the widest used natural sweeteners that are an alternative to sugar, as Coca-Cola and other major brands have incorporated it as a healthy replacement for sugar, that doesn’t compromise on that great sweet taste.

Grown in South-East Asia, the Monk Fruit can be up to 150-200 times sweeter than sweeter than conventional white sugar. The dried fruit produces a sweetener that has zero calories and carbs, doesn’t raise blood glucose levels.

Most alternative sweeteners can cause side effects like gas, bloating, or allergic reactions, but Monk Fruit has not been found to have any such effects.

Summary

Splenda’s products are not made from glutenous or gluten-derived ingredients, however traces of gluten cannot be assured. Unless you are extremely sensitive to gluten, Splenda will be safe for you to use. Of course, if you experience any symptoms, cease use immediately and contact a medical professional.

We hope you now know all you need to use Splenda with confidence!

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}