Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy Recipe

Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy Recipe

Whether you love French dip for sandwiches, mashed potatoes with gravy, or Thanksgiving dinner, au jus gravy is undoubtedly a delectable sauce that pairs well with many meals. However, for those with gluten intolerance or a gluten-free diet, it might be hard to find a suitable au jus gravy, as they are commonly made using flour.

Fortunately, making au jus gravy gluten-free is a fairly simple process. Simply use cornstarch instead of flour, along with some gluten-free beef bouillon and soy sauce. Whisk it all together in water, season to taste, and serve with a meal of your choosing.

The result is a flavorful gluten-free au jus gravy that will keep in the fridge or freezer and can be seasoned and thickened to your liking. Read on to learn more about how to make gluten-free au jus gravy, what ingredients you will need, and more.

How To Make Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy

Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy Recipe

The process of making au jus gravy is simple, even if you are making a gluten-free variant. Simply bring water to a boil in a saucepan and whisk in the ingredients. Add salt and pepper to taste and add cornstarch to thicken the gravy to your desired texture.

What Ingredients You Will Need

The ingredients list for this recipe is short and straightforward. Here is a list of ingredients you will need:

  • Water
  • Gluten-free beef bouillon
  • Gluten-free soy sauce
  • Garlic powder or minced garlic
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Cornstarch

Serving and Storing Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy

You can serve gluten-free au jus gravy on top of mashed potatoes or with a meat dish. It is a savory topping that has potential to make a great addition to many meals. You can include it in your Thanksgiving meals. Additionally, you can make it thinner by skipping the cornstarch and use it as a French dip instead.

Gluten-free au jus gravy can be stored in the fridge or freezer. Just put the leftover au jus gravy in a container and store it. It will keep for up to a week in the fridge but will keep for longer if kept in the freezer.

Read More >> Is Mole Sauce Gluten-Free?

Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy Recipe

Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy Recipe

Ingredients

  • 3 cups of water
  • 4 teaspoons of gluten-free beef bouillon
  • 1 teaspoon of gluten-free soy sauce
  • ΒΌ teaspoon of garlic powder or minced garlic
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Corn starch
Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy Recipe

Directions

  1. Using a medium sized saucepan, bring the water to a boil.
  2. Reduce the heat to low and whisk in the gluten-free beef bouillon.
  3. Whisk in the gluten-free soy sauce, garlic, salt, and pepper.
  4. Add cornstarch until the gravy reaches the desired thickness.

Tips and Tricks

Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy Recipe

It is important to note that not all soy sauces and beef bouillon will be gluten-free. Be sure to select these particular ingredients with care to ensure the recipe remains gluten-free.

You can choose to use garlic powder or minced garlic. You can also add onion powder, if you want. Seasoning is to taste, so if you want to experiment by adding other spices besides salt and pepper, you certainly can.

You can also blend the dried ingredients together in a blender or food processor ahead of time. You can store the dry mixture in a jar or ziploc bag. When you need to make the gluten-free au jus gravy, all you would need to do is add the water and soy sauce.

Read More >> Is Bertolli Alfredo Sauce Gluten-Free?

Conclusion

Gluten-Free Au Jus Gravy Recipe

Having a gluten intolerance or choosing to follow a gluten-free diet should not mean that you need to miss out on delicious recipes, such as au jus gravy. With some gluten-free ingredients and cornstarch in hand, you can make a delicious au jus gravy that still suits your dietary needs.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}