Is Chamoy Gluten-Free?

Is Chamoy Gluten-Free?

Chamoy is gluten-free. There are no wheat ingredients in Chamoy, so, therefore, it is safe to eat for people with celiac disease or other gluten intolerances.

While many brands do contain gluten, some Chamoy brands may contain gluten. To be safe, check the containers for a gluten-free label. Gluten-free certification is critical for the safety of gluten allergies. It is also important to check that the Chamoy factory does not produce gluten products. Otherwise, you risk cross-contamination.

Ingredients in Chamoy

The main ingredients in Chamoy are:

  • Lime

  • Apricot

  • Water

  • Ancho chili

  • Red pepper

  • Salt 

Depending on how you want the Chamoy served, you can mix these ingredients in one of two ways: a paste or a powder. The paste is thick and creamy, which some people use as a treat or candy topping.

When created into a powder, people will use Chamoy to season their dishes and treats. A commonly seen dish using Chamoy powder is the Mexican summer treat, the Mangonada, a sorbet smoothie mixed with Chamoy and mango puree. 

About Chamoy

Chamoy is a savory chile powder seasoning that originated in Mexico. Many Mexican dishes, including desserts, involve Chamoy sauces. Many people love using the sauce, inside and outside of Mexico. The tangy taste of Chamoy has become a favorite of people globally.

Chamoy has a bittersweet flavor. It is sweet and tangy, so people love to prepare it in many unique styles. People often sprinkle or spread this sauce on sweet fruits. Or, they might even enjoy the tanginess of the Chamoy and eat the sauce alone. 

Is Amor Chamoy Sauce Gluten-Free?

Amor Chamoy sauce is gluten-free. There are no wheat or other gluten ingredients in Amor sauce. Furthermore, the Amor company certifies that their Chamoy is gluten-free by listing it as a gluten-free sauce.

This additional gluten-free certification represents the whole Amor Chamoy Sauce chain as a gluten-free company. 

Is Amor Sugar-Free Chamoy Sauce Gluten-Free?

Amor Sugar-Free Chamoy sauce is gluten-free. This sauce does not contain wheat, barley, or other gluten ingredients like the regular sauce. Amor registered their sauce as an official gluten-free food. The sugar-free sauce is less popular than the regular.

Nutrition Facts

Nutrition

Calories

0g

Total Fat

0g

Sodium

80mg

Total Carbohydrate

0g

Protein

0g

Is Tajin Hot Sauce Gluten-Free?

Tajin Chamoy is gluten-free. Tajin is a spicy chili blend made from tart spices, like chili, lime, and sea salt. This gluten-free sauce is one of the most popular sauces on the market, and it is the direct competitor of Chamoy sauce.

These tangy flavors pair nicely with the fruits, such as mango that people typically use Chamoy sauce. People use this savory sauce to season everything from fruit to meats.

Since it pairs so nicely with various things, it is sometimes used concurrently with Chamoy sauces. The complementary ingredients help bring out the best of the ingredients’ flavor profiles. 

Ingredients in Tajin Chamoy:

  • Water

  • Chili peppers

  • Sea salt

  • Lime 

Nutrition info in Tajin Chamoy per serving is listed below. Each serving is one teaspoon (5 milliliters).

Nutrition Facts

Nutrition

Calories

0g

Total Fat

0g

Sodium

110g

Total Carbohydrate

0g

Protein

0g

Is Forritos Pulpa Chamoy Sauce Gluten-Free?

Forritos Pulpa is not gluten-free. The sweet and tangy Forritos Pulpa is a tasty Chamoy sauce made primarily from water, sweetener, guajillo chili powder, salt, and citric pulp. 

There is no wheat flour in the listed ingredients. But according to the product warning label on an official listing on Amazon, Forritos Pulp Chamoy Sauce may contain gluten in the form of wheat flour.

Nutrition Facts

Nutrition

Calories

50g

Total Fat

0g

Sodium

500mg

Total Carbohydrate

13g

Protein

0g

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}