Yes, Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning is gluten-free. While the ‘light’ and ‘salt-free’ versions do contain traces of maltodextrin, the normal, full salt variety of creole seasoning does not contain any ingredients that would render it unsafe for gluten-free diets.
Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning is a product that provides you with the best Creole flavor possible. It also has many other uses as it was not originally developed to be used as a seasoning. You can use it to make your own American version of Cajun cooking or as a base for other homemade spices and seasonings in the kitchen.
What Is Creole Seasoning?
Creole seasoning is a blend of herbs that are great for adding flavor to a variety of foods. It can be made from many different kinds of spices, and usually includes salt, garlic powder, onion powder and paprika. Since it’s a mix of different seasonings, you can make your own by mixing your favorite herbs and spices together.
It is popular in Louisiana, which is where it originated, or any cuisine that includes the use of tomatoes and seafood. Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning is a popular brand of creole seasoning available in the United States. Creole seasoning can be purchased at most supermarkets and speciality shops.
Tony’s Creole Seasoning is gluten-free, but certain versions of the seasoning contain the following ingredients that may be problematic for those with gluten sensitivities: maltodextrin and vinegar solids.
Read More >> Is Everything Bagel Seasoning Gluten-Free?
Why Is Maltodextrin Bad for People With Allergies?
Maltodextrin is made from corn, wheat or potatoes. Therefore, some people may experience an allergic reaction after eating it. Besides, using this product to season food can lead to excessive consumption of sodium as well as maltodextrin. Maltodextrin is only present in the ‘salt-free’ and ‘light’ versions of Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning and is not present in the original seasoning.
Why Are Vinegar Solids Bad for People With Allergies?
Vinegar solids are the result of the fermentation process. When juice is fermented into vinegar, it creates a solid substance called acetate in the liquid. It’s this vinegar solid that makes vinegar cloudy and can cause an allergic reaction in some people who have sensitives with their stomach or bowels, despite being a gluten-free ingredient.
Vinegar solids are not unsafe for people with gluten intolerances in general but may irritate the digestive system of some people who also suffer from gluten intolerance. Those with celiac disease should also consume with caution. If you are at all unsure consult your doctor before purchasing.
Should I Avoid Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning if I Am Gluten Intolerant?
Although you may need to avoid Tony Chachere’s ‘salt-free’ and ‘light’ versions of the seasoning if you have a very severe gluten intolerance, rest assured that they do not use any gluten-containing ingredients in the original, full-fat product.
However, if you have celiac disease and want to ensure products are free of gluten, we recommend reaching out directly to the manufacturer.
How Do I Make My Own Creole Seasoning?
If you are severely gluten intolerant and do not want to take any risks, you may want to try making your own creole seasoning at home!
The key ingredients of creole seasoning include black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and cayenne pepper. All you need to do is combine it all in a bowl and stir well with a spoon and add water to the consistency you prefer.
You can make anywhere from 1 cup to several cups, depending on how much you make at a time.
You can also batch-cook Creole Seasoning with a blend of onions, bell peppers and additional spices. The seasoned powder reduces preparation time by eliminating the need to chop onions, bell peppers and garlic. Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning is ideal for use when cooking seafood, poultry, vegetables and meats.
Other popular Gluten-free seasonings include:
- black pepper
- mustard seeds
- chili peppers
- sea salt
- onion powder
Read More >> Is Ortega Taco Seasoning Gluten-Free?
Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning Has Our Seal of Approval for Gluten Allergies!
We recommend only using Tony Chachere’s full fat and full salt variety of original seasoning if you have a gluten intolerance. The ‘salt-free’ and ‘light’ versions have 1 ingredient that includes gluten and another ingredient that is not bad for the gluten intolerant but is known to upset sensitive digestive systems.
Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning is one of the best seasonings around and is recommended for all, so long as you feel safe enough to consume the original seasoning.
If you are at all unsure, speak to a doctor first, or try making your own creole seasoning at home! Homemade seasoning is fun to make, saves time and tastes great too, but otherwise, Tony Chachere’s Original Creole Seasoning is a safe bet if you are gluten-free.